# **Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes**

## **Item One: Call Meeting to Order**

President Jeff Sageser called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, May 2, 2024, at 1800 hours at the Oak Creek City Hall, 8040 S. 6th Street, Oak Creek, WI.

#### Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jeff Sageser, Margo Franklin and Genene Hibbler. Commissioners Jesus Carrillo and Kristin Sommer were excused. Also, in attendance were Chief of Police David Stecker and Lieutenant Andrew Sagan from the Oak Creek Police Department.

#### **Item Three: Approval of Minutes**

Commissioner Sageser made a motion to approve the minutes from our previous meeting (761) on April 18, 2024. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1801 hours.

#### **Item Four: Convene into Closed Session**

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to review and discuss Police Officer candidates and to consider promotion and performance evaluation data of Police Captain candidates. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1801 hours. The following Commissioners were in attendance: Jeff Sageser, Margo Franklin and Genene Hibbler. Also in attendance were Chief of Police David Stecker and Lieutenant Andrew Sagan from the Oak Creek Police Department. Lieutenant Andrew Sagan left the closed session after the review and discussion of Police Officer candidates and before the consideration of promotion and performance evaluation data of Police Captain candidates.

### Item Five: Reconvene into Open Session

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to reconvene into open Session. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1822 hours.

## Item Six: Take Action on Police Officer Candidate(s)

The following actions were taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting discussion regarding Police Officer candidates:

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to confirm the conditional probationary appointment of Eric Armbruster, Dylan Klemstein, Jack Bateman, Jenna Kozal, Jake Wimmer and Justin Gauger, each to the position of Police Officer, with an effective start date of May 20, 2024. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1823 hours.

# Item Seven: Take Action on Police Captain Candidate(s)

The following action was taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting discussion regarding Police Captain candidate(s):

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to approve the promotion of Lieutenant Andrew Sagan to the rank of Police Captain, with the effective date of May 20, 2024. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1824 hours

# <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Sageser made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, the motion carried at 1825 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Jeffrey Sageser – President Police & Fire Commission

Jesus Carrillo – Secretary Police & Fire Commission

Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission - Meeting #762 - May 2, 2024

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848