Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes

Item One: Call Meeting to Order

President Genene Hibbler called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, July 6, 2023, at 1800 hours at the Oak Creek City Hall, 8040 S. 6th Street, Oak Creek, WI.

Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jesus Carrillo, Margo Franklin, Genene Hibbler, Jeff Sageser and Kristin Sommer. Also in attendance were Fire Chief Michael Kressuk and Assistant Chief Michael Havey from the Oak Creek Fire Department.

Item Three: Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the minutes from our previous meeting (745) on May 31, 2023. Commissioner Sageser seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1801 hours.

Item Four: Introduction of New Commissioner

Commissioner Hibbler introduced the new Police and Fire Commissioner, Kristin Sommer.

Item Five: Election of Officers

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to elect Commissioner Sageser as President of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1803 hours.

Commissioner Franklin made a motion to elect Commissioner Carrillo as Secretary of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1804 hours.

Item Six: Convene into Closed Session

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to review and discuss eligible firefighter applicants. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1805 hours. The following Commissioners were in attendance: Jesus Carrillo, Margo Franklin, Genene Hibbler, Jeff Sageser and Kristin Sommer. Also in attendance were Fire Chief Michael Kressuk and Assistant Chief Michael Havey from the Oak Creek Fire Department.

Item Seven: Reconvene into Open Session

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to reconvene into open Session. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1816 hours.

Item Eight: Take Action

The following actions were taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting:

Commissioner Sageser made a motion to approve the firefighter eligibility list and move forward in the process. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1817 hours.

Item Nine: Discuss processes and procedures for temporary assignments as a Fire Lieutenant

Fire Chief Michael Kressuk informed the Commission of the possible conversion of the Fire Inspector position to a Lieutenant temporary assignment position. Chief Kressuk and Commission then discussed the Lieutenant temporary assignment process and procedures.

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Franklin seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, the motion carried at 1844 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Je Sageser – President Police & Fire Commission

Jusu 0

Jesus Carrillo – Secretary Police & Fire Commission

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848