Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes

Item One: Call Meeting to Order

President Scott Koenig called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, August 4, 2022, at 1801 hours at the Oak Creek City Hall, 8040 S. 6th Street, Oak Creek, WI.

Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jesus Carrillo, Margo Franklin, Genene Hibbler, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Also in attendance was Lieutenant Andrew Thorne from the Oak Creek Police Department.

Item Three: Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to approve the minutes from our previous meeting (731) on July 14, 2022. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1803 hours.

Item Four: Election of Officers (Moved to End of Meeting)

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to elect Commissioner Sageser as Secretary of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1831 hours.

Commissioner Franklin made a motion to elect Commissioner Hibbler as President of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1832 hours.

Item Five: Convene into Closed Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to consider employment and performance evaluation data of police officer candidates. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the

motion carried at 1803 hours. The following Commissioners were in attendance: Jesus Carrillo, Margo Franklin, Genene Hibbler, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Also in attendance was Lieutenant Andrew Thorne from the Oak Creek Police Department.

Item Six: Reconvene into Open Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to reconvene into open Session. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1828 hours.

Item Seven: Take Action on Police Officer Candidates

The following actions were taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting:

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Aaron Lalko to the position of police officer, pending successful completion of conditional offer of employment requirements by August 7, 2022, with the effective date of August 8, 2022. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1829 hours.

<u>Item Eight: Review and Discuss Current Police and Fire Commission Rules</u> and Regulations

Tabled the review and discussion of the current Police and Fire Commission Rules and Regulations.

Item Nine: Take Action on Police and Fire Commission Rules and Regulations

No action taken at this time.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Koenig made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, the motion carried at 1834 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Genene Hibbler – President Police & Fire Commission

Jeffrey Sageser – Secretary Police & Fire Commission

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848