Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes

Item One: Call Meeting to Order

President Scott Koenig called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, July 14, 2022, at 1800 hours at the Oak Creek City Hall, 8040 S. 6th Street, Oak Creek, WI.

Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jesus Carrillo, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Commissioners Margo Franklin and Genene Hibbler were excused. Also in attendance was Captain Dave Ashenhurst from the Oak Creek Police Department.

Item Three: Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the minutes from our previous meeting (730) on June 2, 2022. Commissioner Sageser seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1801 hours.

Item Four: Election of Officers

The election of Commission officers was postponed due to all Commissioners not being present.

Item Five: Convene into Closed Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to consider employment and performance evaluation data of police officer candidates. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1803 hours. The following Commissioners were in attendance: Jesus Carrillo, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Also in attendance was Captain Dave Ashenhurst from the Oak Creek Police Department.

Item Six: Reconvene into Open Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to reconvene into open Session. Commissioner Sageser seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1819 hours.

Item Seven: Take Action on Police Officer Candidates

The following actions were taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting:

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Matthew Hoppe to the position of police officer, with the effective date of August 8, 2022. Commissioner Sageser seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1821 hours.

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Adriean Williams to the position of police officer, pending successful completion of conditional offer of employment requirements by August 7, 2022, with the effective date of August 8, 2022. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1824 hours.

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Ty Saunders to the position of police officer, pending successful completion of conditional offer of employment requirements by August 7, 2022, with the effective date of August 8, 2022. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1826 hours.

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Kristina Ralston-Grimm to the position of police officer, pending successful completion of conditional offer of employment requirements by August 7, 2022, with the effective date of August 8, 2022. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, and the motion carried at 1827 hours.

<u>Item Eight: Review and Discuss Current Police and Fire Commission Rules and Regulations</u>

Tabled the review and discussion of the current Police and Fire Commission Rules and Regulations.

Item Nine: Take Action on Police and Fire Commission Rules and Regulations

No action taken at this time.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Koenig made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, all Commissioners present voted aye, the motion carried at 1828 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Scott Koenig – President

Police & Fire Commission

Jeffe Sageser – Secretary

Police & Fire Commission

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848