MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING CITY OF OAK CREEK PARKS, RECREATION & FORESTRY COMMISSION APRIL 28, 2021

1. Call Meeting to Order/Roll Call

Chair Schreiber-Johnson called the meeting to order at 6:32 pm.

The following members were present at roll call: Secretary Beyer, Commissioner Bautch, Commissioner Theys, Alderman Guzikowski, Commissioner Ryan and Commissioner Druckrey.

Also present: Parks Maintenance Supervisor Jeff Wendt, Director of Public Works Ted Johnson, Mayor Dan Bukiewicz, City Administrator Andrew Vickers, and Zoning Administrator Laurie Miller.

Commissioner Theil is excused.

2. Approval of Minutes - November 12, 2020

Commissioner Theys motioned to approve the minutes of the November 12, 2020 meeting. Commissioner Ryan seconded.

On roll call: all voted aye, except Commissioner Theil (abstained). Motion Carried

3. New Business

a) Election of Commission Chairperson & Secretary – Election for May 13, 2021 – May 12, 2022 Term.

Alderman Guzikowski nominated Chair Schreiber-Johnson for the position of Chairperson. Commissioner Theys seconded. Chair Schreiber-Johnson accepted the nomination.

On roll call: all voted aye, except Commissioner Theil (abstained). Motion Carried

Commissioner Ryan nominated Secretary Beyer for the position of Secretary. Alderman Guzikowski seconded. Secretary Beyer accepted the nomination.

On roll call: all voted aye, except Commissioner Theil (abstained). Motion Carried

b) Proposal for Consideration – Rename the walking trails at Lake Vista Park after former City Attorney, Larry Haskin

Mayor Bukiewicz proposed naming the trails at Lake Vista Park after former City Attorney, Larry Haskin; stating City Administrator Vickers further suggested naming the main pavilion at the park after Mr. Haskin instead.

Mayor Bukiewicz agreed to the suggestion and continued by proposing former Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission Chairperson Janet Fluegle be honored at Lake Vista Park as well. Mayor Bukiewicz went on to explain Mrs. Fluegle was the Chairperson for the Commission for more than 20 years and was very passionate about parks in the City.

Discussion between City Administrator Vickers and Mayor Bukiewicz was had on signage for the buildings.

Alderman Guzikowski and City Administrator Vickers both explained to the Commission the amount of effort Mr. Haskin put in to make Lake Vista Park over the course of years.

Chair Schreiber-Johnson put forward a proposal of naming the main pavilion after Mr. Haskin and the trails at Lake Vista Park after Mrs. Fluegle.

Alderman Guzikowski motioned to recommend to the Common Council naming the main pavilion at Lake Vista Park after Larry Haskin and the trails at Lake Vista Park after Janet Fluegle. Secretary Beyer seconded the motion.

On roll call: all voted aye, except Commissioner Theil (abstained). Motion Carried

c) Staff Report

Zoning Administrator Miller reviewed project updates throughout the city (see staff report for details).

City Administrator Vickers updated the Commission on the restructuring of the Recreation Department. He explained that moving the Recreation Department to the school district will be a collaborative partnership with the City. Oak Creek is the only community in Milwaukee County whose Recreation Department is not currently run through their school district. This has made scheduling and booking programs very confusing for residents.

With the new partnership, the programming available will be inclusive of all ages with equitable access to home and privately schooled populations in addition to the residents of Franklin, attending an Oak Creek - Franklin Joint School District school.

City Administrator Vickers briefly discussed future staffing requirements for the Recreation Department.

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission will be an advisory committee to aid in policy making and support for the Recreation Department and School District.

Commissioner Ryan showed support for the partnership.

This item was informational only and a vote was not required.

4. Adjournment

Chair Schreiber-Johnson adjourned the meeting at 7:31p.m.

Prepared By:

Respectfully Submitted,

Laurie Miller

Zoning Administrator

Dusie mju

Anne Beyer OCPRF Secretary