Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes

Item One: Call Meeting to Order

President Scott Koenig called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 1801 hours at the Oak Creek Municipal Court, 301 W. Ryan Road, Oak Creek, WI.

Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jesus Carrillo, Genene Hibbler, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Also in attendance were Captain David Stecker from the Oak Creek Police Department and Fire Chief Mike Kressuk from the Oak Creek Fire Department.

Item Three: Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Sageser made a motion to accept the minutes (699) from our previous meeting on June 18, 2020. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1802 hours.

Item Four: Election of Commission Officers

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to elect Commissioner Sageser as Secretary of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1803 hours.

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to elect Commissioner Koenig as President of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1804 hours.

Item Five: Convene into Closed Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to review and discuss Battalion Chief of Operations candidate and review and discuss the hiring of two Police Officer

candidates. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1804 hours. In attendance were the following Commissioners: Jesus Carrillo, Genene Hibbler, Scott Koenig and Jeff Sageser. Also in attendance were Captain David Stecker from the Oak Creek Police Department and Fire Chief Mike Kressuk from the Oak Creek Fire Department.

Item Six: Reconvene into Open Session

Commissioner Sageser made a motion to reconvene into Open Session. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1848 hours.

Item Seven: Action Taken

The following action was taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting. Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to approve the appointment of Jeffrey Mallas to the position of Battalion Chief of Operations, contingent on him acquiring a bachelor's degree within 4 years of appointment, with the effective date to be determined. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1850 hours.

Item Eight: Action Taken

The following action was taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting. Commissioner Koenig made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Matthew Bublitz to the position of police officer, contingent on him meeting the all the conditions of employment, with the effective date of July 13, 2020. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1851 hours.

The following action was taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting. Commissioner Hibbler made a motion to approve the probationary appointment of Evan Stanger to the position of police officer, contingent on him meeting the all the conditions of employment, with the effective date of July 13, 2020. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1852 hours.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Koenig made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Hibbler seconded the

motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1852 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Scott Koenig – President

Police & Fire Commission

Jeff Sageser – Secretary Police & Fire Commission

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848