# Oak Creek Police & Fire Commission Meeting Minutes

# Item One: Call Meeting To Order

President Scott Koenig called the meeting of the Oak Creek Police and Fire Commission to order on Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 1801 hours at the Oak Creek City Hall, 8040 S. 6<sup>th</sup> Street, Oak Creek, WI.

### Item Two: Roll Call

The following Commissioners were present: Jesus Carrillo, Scott Koenig and Dennis Laskaskie. Commissioners Jeff Sageser and Jim Schultz were excused. Also in attendance were Captain David Stecker and Lieutenant David Ashenhurst from the Oak Creek Police Department.

#### **Item Three: Approval Of Minutes**

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to accept the minutes (677) from our previous meeting on April 4, 2019. Commissioner Laskaskie seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1802 hours.

#### **Item Four: Election of Commission Officers**

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to elect Commissioner Koenig as President of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Laskaskie seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1819 hours.

Commissioner Laskaskie made a motion to elect Commissioner Sageser as Secretary of the Police and Fire Commission. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1819 hours.

#### Item Five: Convene Into Closed Session

Commissioner Koenig made a motion to convene into Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Section 19.85(1)(c) to review the spring 2019 police officer eligibility list. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call,

the motion carried at 1803 hours. In attendance were the following Commissioners: Jesus Carrillo, Scott Koenig and Dennis Laskaskie. Also in attendance were Captain David Stecker and Lieutenant David Ashenhurst from the Oak Creek Police Department.

## Item Six: Reconvene Into Open Session

Commissioner Carrillo made a motion to reconvene into Open Session. Commissioner Koenig seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1815 hours.

## Item Seven: Action Taken

The following action was taken as a result of the Closed Session meeting. Commissioner Koenig made a motion to approve the list of police office candidates, who have met the process requirements, including passing the state written exam, to be on the spring 2019 police officer eligibility list and move forward with the process. Commissioner Laskaskie seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1816 hours.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business before the Commission, Commissioner Koenig made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Carrillo seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried at 1819 hours, and the meeting was adjourned.

Scott Koenig – President Police & Fire Commission

Jeffel Sageser – Secretary Police & Fire Commission

cc: Mayor- City Clerk - Police Chief - Fire Chief Oak Creek Professional Police Officers Association International Association of Fire Fighters - Local #1848